Thu May 25 | 7:30 PM


Daphnis et Chloe


May 25, 2023 7:30 PM


Daphnis et Chloe

Francesco Lecce-Chong, conductor
Carey Bell, clarinet
Eugene Symphony Chorus, Dr. Sharon Paul, Director

Jessie Montgomery: Soul Force

Copland: Clarinet Concerto

Ravel: Daphnis et Chloe

Our season of storytelling comes to a close with Maurice Ravel’s balletic masterpiece Daphnis et Chloe. It combines a dramatic narrative sweep with jaw-dropping Impressionist details, and will bring you to the edge of your Silva Concert Hall seat. Eugene native Carey Bell, now Principal Clarinet of the famed San Francisco Symphony, returns home to play Aaron Copland’s lyrical and lively Concerto, originally written for jazz legend Benny Goodman. American powerhouse Jessie Montgomery’s opening work draws on big-band jazz, R&B, and funk to weave a sonic tapestry. Your spirit will soar!


  • Listen to the below Spotify playlist, curated by Music Director & Conductor Francesco Lecce-Chong, for inspiration and insight into the exciting final concert of our 2022/23 Season.
  • Watch the below video of Music Director & Conductor Francesco Lecce-Chong introducing the exciting offerings of Ravel's Daphnis et Chloe.
  • Read our First-Timers Guide to brush up on orchestra vocabulary and find out what to expect from a concert at the Hult Center

Enter the Eugene Symphony Lottery

Are you feeling lucky? Enter the Eugene Symphony lottery for the chance to win two tickets to an upcoming concert! Fill out this form, including contact information and choose from a variety of our symphonic concerts that you would like to attend. If you are a winner, you will be contacted one week before the concert to collect your winnings.


The health and safety of Eugene Symphony audience members, musicians, and staff members has been and will always be our top priority. We strongly welcome and encourage patrons who wish to continue wearing masks while attending performances to do so. We want all of our attendees to feel comfortable and accepted in your choice. You take care of you, we'll take care of the music and ensuring that your experience attending a Eugene Symphony concert remains exceptional.

For the most up to date health and safety protocols for Hult Center performances, visit the Hult Center website — or feel free to call the Hult Center Ticket Office at 541-682-5000 Tuesday to Friday from 12:00 to 5:00 pm.

LOCATION: Hult Center for the Performing Arts

Eugene-Kakegawa Sister Cities


The Eugene-Kakegawa Sister Cities relationship was established in 1979 to bring people from the two cities together for peace and understanding. It is part of Sister Cities International, which was created at President Eisenhower’s 1956 White House summit on citizen diplomacy.

Student/Youth Tickets Available for $10

Student/Youth tickets are available for $10 for nearly all of our concerts! You can buy them in person at the Hult Center Ticket Office, by phone, or online. If buying online or by phone, some fees apply and you must present your student ID at Will Call to pick up your tickets. Become a Student Subscriber for all 9 Symphonic Series concerts at just $10 each. One ticket or one subscription per student ID. Some seating restrictions apply.

Give the Gift of Music

Holiday Sale

Music makes an amazing holiday gift for everyone on your list and we are currently running our Holiday sales until Dec 31! You can take advantage of these great offers on our Compose Your Own Packages to gift to a loved one or use yourself!

Vet Tix


Tickets available through Vet Tix!