Sat December 10 | 7:30 PM


Ode to Joy

Celebrate the holiday season with Ludwig van Beethoven's hymn to humanity, featuring the Eugene Symphony Chorus and a work by First Symphony Composer Gabriella Smith


December 10, 2022 7:30 PM


Ode to Joy

Francesco Lecce-Chong, conductor
Kelly Nassief, soprano
Abigail Nims, mezzo-soprano
Christopher Pfund, tenor
Michael Dean, bass
Eugene Symphony Chorus, Dr. Sharon Paul, Director

Gabriella Smith: Field Guide

Shawn Kirchner: Hallelujah

Beethoven: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage

Beethoven: Symphony No. 9, “Choral”

There is no experience that compares to hearing a live performance of Ludwig van Beethoven’s hymn to humanity, starting with the sounds of order emerging from chaos on through to the spine-tingling “Ode to Joy” that will bring you out of your seat in exultation at the end. We also hear First Symphony Project composer Gabriella Smith’s collage of sounds inspired by the natural world, an a capella work sung by the Eugene Symphony Chorus, and another stunning but rarely heard work for chorus and orchestra by Beethoven, Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage.


In accordance with Oregon state mandates being lifted, beginning March 12, 2022, the Hult Center for the Performing Arts and Eugene Symphony will no longer require mandatory face masks or proof of vaccination or negative COVID tests for patrons.

The health and safety of Eugene Symphony audience members, musicians, and staff members has been and will always be our top priority. We strongly welcome and encourage patrons who wish to continue wearing masks while attending performances to do so. We want all of our attendees to feel comfortable and accepted in your choice. You take care of you, we'll take care of the music and ensuring that your experience attending a Eugene Symphony concert remains exceptional.

We also want to share that, due to the nature of our orchestra members’ work, which calls for extended hours of rehearsal in close proximity to each other in the days leading up to the performance, the musicians will continue to be masked as they have been throughout the 2021/22 season. We anticipate that we will revisit this issue prior to each performance week, and will keep you informed of any changes as they happen.

For the most up to date health and safety protocols visit the Hult Center website — or feel free to call the Hult Center Ticket Office at 541-682-5000 Tuesday to Friday from 12:00 to 5:00 pm.

LOCATION: Hult Center for the Performing Arts